and any law of the legislature of a province relative to agriculture, shall have effect in and for the province as long and as far as it is not repugnant to any Act of the Parliament of Canada".

A Department of Agriculture with a Minister of Agriculture at its head was accordingly established as part of the Government of Canada. Departments of Agriculture headed by provincial Ministers of Agriculture were also set up by the provincial governments, except in the Province of Newfoundland where agricultural affairs are dealt with by the Agricultural Division of the Department of Mines, Agriculture and Resources. The agricultural affairs of the Yukon and Northwest Territories are administered for the Federal Government by the Territorial Division, Northern Administration Branch, Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources.

Subsection 1.-Services of the Department of Agriculture

The activities of the Canada Department of Agriculture fall into three broad groups: research, promotional and regulatory services, and assistance programs. Research work is aimed at the solution of practical farm problems through the application of fundamental scientific research to all aspects of soil management and crop and animal production. Promotional and regulatory services are directed toward the prevention or eradication of crop and livestock pests and the registration of chemicals and other materials used to achieve that end and toward the inspection and grading of agricultural products and the establishment of sound policies for crop and livestock improvement. Assistance programs cover some of the sphere of soil and water conservation, price stability, provision of credit, rural rehabilitation and development, and crop insurance and income security in the event of crop failure.

The Department has three main Branches—Research, Health of Animals, and Production and Marketing—and its organization includes a number of smaller units—the Agricultural Stabilization Board (see p. 453), the Agricultural Products Board, the Prairie Farm Rehabilitation Administration (p. 430), Crop Insurance (p. 453), the Economics Division, the Information Division and Departmental Administration. Agencies closely allied with the Department and responsible to the Minister of Agriculture are the Farm Credit Corporation (p. 450) and the Board of Grain Commissioners (see Part II of Chapter XXI).

Research Branch.—The Research Branch is the principal research agency of the Department. It conducts a broad program of scientific investigation covering both basic studies and practical attacks on agricultural problems. There are seven Research Institutes at Ottawa; two Research Institutes, ten Regional Research Stations, four Research Laboratories, 27 Experimental Farms and 20 Substations are located throughout the ten provinces and the Yukon and Northwest Territories. The professional staff of the Research Branch numbers 864, of whom 460 have doctorate or post-doctorate degrees.

The Research Branch serves all principal agricultural areas in Canada and co-ordinates its efforts with those of the National Research Council, universities and kindred agencies. One staff group is charged with the planning and co-ordination of the program and another with the administration required to carry it out. Four assistant directors general, representing regional and organizational divisions, assist the programming of the work. Three research services—statistics, engineering, and analytical chemistry, located with the administrative and executive group at Ottawa—provide research groups across the country with specialized leadership and service and undertake critical researches or other creative work as required.

The Research Institutes are organized on a scientific rather than a problem basis and are engaged primarily on basic research of wide application to agriculture. They also carry out related national work such as the identification of plants, insects and pathogens. There are seven Institutes at Ottawa and one each at London and Belleville in Ontario.